The Dreaming House

299.00 270.00

  • Author: Tanya Mendonsa
  • Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers India Ltd
  • ISBN-13: 9788172239169
  • Pages: 148
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Year of Pub / Reprint Year: 2009


About The Book

Conceived of as a journey within a book, a journey in both geographical and spiritual terms, The Dreaming House is an anthology of poems in two parts. The first, titled ‘ The Voyage Out’, is composed of poems on people the author has met – whether in real or imaginary life. The second, ‘The Country Beyond’, focuses – almost in a trance of delight – on the natural world and its ability to change human beings. Tanya Mendonsa’s language, by turns poignant and muscular, is lyrical and contemporary, yet it is obvious that she is rooted in poetic traditions going far back in time. Here is a strikingly individual, strong and joyous voice raised in poetry, graced with rare charm and insight. International customers click here to buy the book online.

About The Author

Poet and painter, Tanya Mendonsa graduated in English literature from Calcutta and then moved to Paris to paint, major in French literature at the Sorbonne, and run a chaotic language school. After nineteen years in Europe, she returned to live in the river-laced village of Moira in Goa, with her partner, two dogs and three cats. Her paintings have been exhibited widely. She is now working on her second book of poems, None of This Is Mine.