The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes


  • Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Publisher: Jaico Publishing House
  • ISBN-13: 9788172247249
  • Pages: 304
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Year of Pub / Reprint Year: 2016


About The Book

Published in the year 1989, this edition of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes comprises 12 short stories that document the escapades of Holmes and Watson.

The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of 12 short stories, based on the investigations carried out by Holmes. Dr. Watson, Holmes’ friend, is the narrator in this novel. He desires to keep a record of the uncanny ability of Sherlock Holmes to unravel extremely tough cases, which were often deemed unsolvable by the police.

One of the stories, The Man With The Twisted Lip, starts off with Dr. Watson having to search for his wife’s friend’s husband, who is missing. Her husband suffers from an opium addiction, which made her think he would be at the Opium den. Watson meets Holmes at the den, and realises that Holmes is busy on another case. Mrs. St. Clair is pretty sure she saw her husband in the building’s second floor. With the help of the police, she enters the room to find a disfigured beggar. After having a word with the beggar, Holmes tells Mrs. St. Clair that her husband may have been murdered. However, he goes back on his conclusion after she receives a letter in her husband’s writing. After probing further, Holmes begins to unravel the mystery behind Mr. St. Clair’s disappearance, which is set to keep the readers glued to the very end.

In another story, A Case of Identity, the readers are introduced to Miss Mary Sutherland, whose fiancé goes missing. Mr. Hosmer Angel, her fiancé, is a very quiet man, of whom Miss Sutherland doesn’t know much about. Despite the case being an incredibly complicated one for Watson, Holmes is able to unravel the mystery behind Angel’s disappearance, which will take the reader completely by surprise.

About The Author

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was an author and a physician.

Doyle has written A Duet, With An Occasional Chorus, The Doings Of Raffles Haw, The Valley of Fear, The Poison Belt and The Firm Of Girdlestone.

Doyle was born on 22nd May, 1859, in Edinburgh, Scotland. He completed his schooling from the Jesuit School Stella Matutina, Austria. He then went on to pursue his degree in Medicine from the University of Edinburgh, during which time he started writing short stories. Doyle published his first non-fiction article in the British Medical Journal, on 20th September, 1879. He also completed his doctorate on tabes dorsalis in 1885. He was married twice, first to Louisa Hawkins, and then to Jean Elizabeth Leckie. Doyle passed away on 7th July, 1930, in East Sussex, England.