Classic Khuswant Singh


  • Author: Khushwant Singh
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN-13: 9780143415169
  • Pages: 851
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Year of Pub / Reprint Year: 2010


About The Book

Classic Khushwant Singh comprises of four novels by India’s most widely read and celebrated author, Khushwant Singh.

This omnibus comprises of four of the best novels penned down by Khushwant Singh – Train to Pakistan, I Shall not Hear the Nightingale, Delhi and Burial at Sea.
Train to Pakistan – This is a historical novel which recounts the Partition of India in August 1947. The residents of a village at the India-Pakistan find their lives shattered by the arrival of a train carrying the bodies of dead Sikhs.
I Shall not Hear the Nightingale – Written in 1959, this novel traces the social, cultural, religious and economic patterns of India in the pre-independence era.
Delhi – It is a historical novel set in the heart of India, Delhi. The story traces the life of a journalist, going through bad times, and his relationship with a eunuch named Bhagmati.
Burial at Sea – In this novella, Khushwant Singh returns to territories he is best known for: 20th century India, sexuality, history and religion. The book traces the life of Victor Jai Bhagwan, one of the close associates of Mahatma Gandhi and his illicit relationship with a tantric god-woman who introduces him to the pleasures of unrestrained sexuality

About The Author

Khushwant Singh was an Indian journalist and author. He was born in 1915 in a region of Punjab which is now a part of Pakistan. He studied at St. Stephen’s College, Delhi, and at King’s College in London. He later studied for the Bar at the Inner Temple. During his journalistic career, he has worked with numerous publications like the Yojana, The Illustrated Weekly of India, Hindustan Times and The National Herald. During his tenure as Editor of The Illustrated Weekly, the magazine’s circulation jumped from 65,000 to 400,000. Khushwant Singh is known for his caustic wit. He has been a member of the Rajya Sabha and was honored with the Padma Bhushan in 1974. Some other notable books by him include The History of Sikhs, The Fall of the Kingdom of the Punjab, Not a Nice Man to Know: The Best of Khushwant Singh, Truth, Love and a Little Malice, and Paradise and Other Stories.